Learning To Accept Uncertainty

rowat_cnuk_20110329-6181

If you had asked me what I was doing a year ago, I would have told you with 100% certainty what I was going to do for the rest of my life.  After a summer on the road going coast to coast with a truck, a trailer, a dog, and two horses, that has all dramatically changed. This has created a new challenge.  For the past eight years I have had a laser focus on where I was headed and why, dedicating every second to that goal.  Now the question is how do I commit the same 100% dedication and focus toward an uncertainty? 

What this has allowed me to do is to focus on what it is that I really want to do based on what I have learned over the past years about myself.  This has helped to create a new path without any particular destination being the goal, allowing me to engage in a continuous process of refining what I love to do and what I am meant to do.

I am sure this is a continual process as one matures: a life spent continuously questioning where the next path to be taken is hidden.  Try to accept your journey and simply stay positive in times of uncertainty; the next open door is right around the corner, and it will all make sense later. Continue to study, apply, and reflect every day, allowing yourself to trust the process to lead you to the next phase of the journey.

By accepting a little uncertainty, you’re slowly able to let go of the most negative and destructive human characteristic we all have: control.  

Leave a Reply

