Horsemanship Cannot Be Bought?

DSC_0209

A long time ago I read a quote from Bill Dorrance that said “Horsemanship is not for sale”. I refused to believe it for many reasons, the main one being if I were to pursue my dream of someday becoming a true horseman, I needed to find a way to make a living at the same time. As with many lessons in the horsemanship world, it takes time for true meanings to reveal themselves to you, or, at the very least, for you to peel another layer away to get closer to the true meaning!

One day it clicked while I was putting together all my current horse knowledge for a speech I was giving on leadership through horses. I shouldn’t be trying to sell horsemanship, I need to be selling leadership. What do I mean by leadership? Well in the words of Bill Dorrance, it’s mentoring and teaching others to take “an approach to learning that combines the flexibility of thought and action with a willingness to experiment to indefinitely  postpone negative judgment”. In my translation of that, it’s teaching people to live their lives in a way that’s not about the horse, it’s about you!

That is why my mission is to help people develop leadership skills through the teachings of horsemanship, because the only way people will see any results with their horse is if they first create results within themselves!

Horsemanship cannot be bought from anyone. It can only be earned through the 3 key factors stated by Bill Dorrance:
1. Burning desire to learn

2. Time to practice

3. Mentoring

As I think about horsemanship in the world today, I find myself trying to guide people to those 3 key factors.  I truly believe the only way to lead your horse is by learning how to first lead yourself.

In the coming weeks I will break down my current translation of the 3 success factors that the true horsemen have laid out for each and every one of us.

Thank you to the greats, Bill and Tom Dorrance, along with Ray Hunt. A special thanks to Buck Brannaman for the continuation of the study! Without them, where would we be?

Leave a Reply

