Progression Process: Question Everything Part 1

IMG_20130729_170504

Questioning has always allowed me to become more aware of opportunities for progression.  The questioning I do is very deliberate and has a process to it.  The process starts with the awareness of two dynamics.

Physical (Body)

Mental (Mind)

 

From there the question can start forming under two aspects:

Self (Internal)

Others (External)

 

The way that I have always processed these questions has to do with physical- and self-questioning.  This simply means that I will question my physical position to make sure, to the best of my ability, that I am not hindering the horse’s naturally balanced movement.  I internalize the way my body feels: my hand positioning, my balance, my eye positioning, and any detail that might be causing the horse to be less relaxed.  It could be something as small as a knot in my back muscles that cause me to ride differently than usual.  The main question is “am I doing everything physically, that I am currently aware of, to help the horse succeed and feel relaxed?”

After doing this self-evaluation, I then move on to questioning other physical conditions.  I will question the horse’s condition from the ground up to make sure that he is physically capable of achieving the naturally balanced movements of a perfectly sound horse.

By questioning both your own physicality and that of the horse, you are able to recognize the existence of a physical problem and recognize that it does not stem from the horse bracing or holding a grudge against you.  I know how I would like a horse to feel, and I have pushed many physically to see if they were just bracing, only to find out that they were physically incapable of doing such movements.  Early on, I erred on the side of believing that the horse could do the movements and assumed that I was doing something wrong to cause the problem; I figured that I wasn’t even close to the correct timing and positioning needed to help the horse to succeed at anything. I ignored the horse’s physicality and only focused on mine, but over time I became more confident in myself and learned to question the horse’s physicality as well.

You can see from this little excerpt of my journey that you’re going to have to make lots of errors at first, and you’re going to have to spend lots of time working on those areas.  Once you’re able to get the timing, the positioning (Feel), and the balance, the movements start to take care of themselves, and progression as a whole can take place.  Progression comes down to balancing questions both of the small details and the bigger picture, but that’s another blog entry in itself.

Please be sure to replace horses with the people in your daily life to see if this is something you can relate to or start to put to use in your daily  life.  Development towards success is something you have to work at every day.  Here is a little finishing quote I herd Brendon Burchard say, “When you knock at the doors of success, don’t be surprised when the one to answer is hard work.”  Don’t be afraid to dedicate yourself to something your passionate about, but don’t be surprised when you run into difficult times and long hours of hard work to break through to the other side.   Just stay committed and believe in your cause to eventually help develop others to reach their true potential.


Leave a Reply

